Kristens intervju med Marie Claire - Australien


When your first screen credit rolls up after the names Glenn Close and Joshua Jackson, fame is going to be difficult to avoid - even when you're 11. Kristen Stewart has had nine years to get used to it, but the Twilight star still craves celebrity like a vampire seeks out sunshine. "I grew up in the business, so the attention isn't surprising, but it is inhibiting," says Stewart, who landed a role in 2001's The Safety Of Objects after an agent spotted her in a primary school play. "I love acting and I'm so grateful for Twilight and the opportunities it's given me. I'm just not very good at dealing with the idea of being followed everywhere, and not being able to walk down the street or sit at a cafe with friends without getting mobbed and Twittered."

And don’t start her on the romance issue. The latest instalment of the Twilight saga, Eclipse, only ramped up the hysteria surrounding her apparent relationship with co-star Robert Pattinson. "Nothing I could say would change anything, so I'm not going to say anything," sighs the ethereally beautiful Stewart, whose brittle manner suggests that a hotel suite remains her true sanctuary. A role reversal doesn't hurt, either. And what better therapy for an angsty ingenue than a role as seminal rock chick Joan Jett in this year's biopic The Runaways. As Eclipse and the critically acclaimed The Runaways are released on DVD, Stewart opens up about life in the Twilight zone and how she is managing to balance life, career and her conflicted bargain with the devil of celebrity.

Do you sometimes feel exhausted by the attention you've had to deal with?
It's hard to talk about that without giving the impression that I'm being negative or complaining. I love acting – I'm so passionate about the process, but there's a helpless feeling when you can't do the things you used to be able to do without attracting a large crowd. I knew the business very well before I had the chance to be a part of these films and so it's not like it's a shock to me. I would just rather not have to worry about where I can go just so that I'm not going to be followed. Sometimes I stay in my hotel room when I'm working on films or while I’m doing publicity for them. It's less aggravation.

Is it important to you to have the chance to work on other films in between the Twilight movies?
I love to work. I don't have any master plan as far as my career is concerned. I just choose projects on instinct. It was so interesting for me to be able to do The Runaways and play such a fierce personality, and the other films I've done have all had something that was really meaningful to me. I try to find roles that connect with me rather than think about how big the film will be or what it will do for my career. I could never structure things that way.

What is your take on Eclipse?

We see a more confident and determined Bella. She's evolving and learning more about who she is and what she wants out of life. She also has to deal with the possibility that she's lying to herself about being in love with Jacob when she is still, in fact, deeply in love with Edward.

Is it a case of Bella overcoming a lot of her self-doubts?
Bella is surer of herself and not as moody and despairing as she was in New Moon. It's a really interesting progression that we see in Eclipse. It was interesting for me to take the character into a different space. I enjoy being able to leave one film and one chapter in her life and then get to explore her again. Most films force you to leave your character and that's the end of the journey. So with Bella it's exciting to be able to revisit her and rediscover new elements to her character.

Do you think Eclipse is a classic love triangle situation?
It is in the sense that Edward and Jacob are both fighting for Bella. She thinks she knows what she wants, but now she has to be able to stand up and say, OK, so maybe every choice isn't completely impulsive. Maybe there are different levels of love, and maybe my ideological views of what I think you are to me are wrong, and maybe I could look at somebody else.

Do you feel you understand better now why the public is so fascinated with the Twilight story?
I think you have these intense personal dramas and the kind of deep feelings that Bella is experiencing, and everything that is going on between Bella and Edward and Bella and Jacob, that these very intense and private stories are developing where there's all this chaos and danger surrounding them. So you're thrown into a world that most people can relate to on a personal level, and then there's this incredibly exotic and threatening backdrop to that world.
Klicka HÄR för att läsa mer!


/Erica

Kommentarer

Kom ihåg mig?

Namn:


E-postadress (publiceras ej):


URL/Bloggadress:


Kommentar:


Trackback