Kristens intervju med Movieline

Stewart spoke with ML during the Toronto International Film Festival where the film had its North American premiere. She shared thoughts on her character's "hard love," how she grew herself being a part of the film and how this was the "biggest experience" she's felt on a set.

So what was your road to On the Road? 
I was 14 or 15 when I first met Walter Salles. I spoke to him when I was 17, I think I may have shot the first Twilight, I'm not sure - possibly I was about to go do it. At first I was talking about playing another part, so it's been a long time coming. I don't know how I was able to get around that kind of energy, but to convey that I loved this thing in the way [Walter Salles] does and as soon as you get around that energy it passes between you, nothing really needs to be said. I got the job on the spot, and I drove away just vibrating. I was like, 'Are you kidding me?' Plus I was very young, I wasn't quite old enough for the part yet.

When I read the book many years ago, I found it sprawling and didn't seem to have elements that would make it translatable to the screen - at least I remember thinking that at the time. What did you think of the book when you first read it? 
I was reading it for school, so I had to read it. I did independent study when I was in high school. I remember, I took so long to read the book. All I had to do was read it and write a report, it wasn't like I had to do an intensive study of the book, and it took me months and months - I was late. But, I think my teacher was OK with it because I think ultimately the paper was good.

But, people say it's different when you read it at different ages - but for me at the time, it was fun! At that age you start realizing you have a choice in who you surround yourself with. Up until that point, you're just around circumstantially who you're with - your family or whatever - but at that point you can start choose your family - and I've got a great family by the way - but I mean just the people you decide to surround yourself with. I don't want to sound cliché, but people should pull something out of you that would otherwise remain unseen.

And when I read the book I thought, 'gosh I need to find people like that.' I'm definitely not [my character, Marylou's] type. As I continued reading it and got older, the weight of it started to mean more. I was totally enamored by the colors and the way he wrote it and jumped over words and how it read like a song. Then when I did the movie, to play a part like Marylou - she's very vivid. She's very colorful and interesting and on the periphery so you don't know how and why she can do the things that she does.

By the time it came to bring it to life, I didn't want to play just a crazy, wild sexy girl. I wanted to apply all the whys and get to know the people behind the characters. There's a weight to it. It's not easy to live a life like that. That's what makes these people kind of remarkable. It's a give and take. There's no way to have this without pain, but they're not frivolous, they can feel it…

Marylou's a forward thinking progressive soul, but she's also surrounded by this situation with her ongoing yet ever-changing situation with her ex-husband, Dean, who is still an emotional roller coaster, both for himself and her. Did you ever judge her in respect to why she'd tolerate him for so long? 
No, I never had done so. I always wondered how she could take it. How deep is that well? How much can you give and how much can you let be taken from you?

What I found about her is that she's very unique to her time, but nowadays she'd be something else. Her capacity to see everyone's flaws and appreciate them is really unbelievable. Any interview we did with anyone who was involved with them [before doing the movie] always said the same thing - that she was such a wonderful woman. She's infectiously amazing. So, no I didn't judge her.
[Här] kan ni läsa resten av intervjun.
Bildkälla
 
/Erica

Kommentarer

Kom ihåg mig?

Namn:


E-postadress (publiceras ej):


URL/Bloggadress:


Kommentar:


Trackback